Riding Mountain Artists’ Residency

The Riding Mountain Artists’ Residency is a multi-disciplinary program that provides professional artists and administrators with time and a facility in which to focus on their work. Artists also have the opportunity to interact and share their work with other artists, residents, and visitors in the Riding Mountain area.


The Riding Mountain Cabin at Riding Mountain National Park was renovated by Parks Canada in 2006 to become the home of the Manitoba Arts Council’s Riding Mountain Artists’ Residency program. Since 2006, over 80 artists have experimented and created new art in the beautiful natural setting of the park. The artists-in-residence have included musicians, poets, song writers, choreographers, filmmakers, arts administrators, writers, photographers, playwrights, visual artists, documentary makers, dancers, theater artists, and composers.

Application deadline: October 15

Download the Program Application with Guidelines

Questions? Contact a program consultant | 204 945-2237 | info@artscouncil.mb.ca

2017 Riding Moutain Artists in Residence

The Riding Mountain Artists’ Residency provides professional artists with an opportunity to be inspired and create their works in the park’s setting. In return these professional artists invite visitors to interact with them and uniquely discover the park through their eyes and works.

Reva Stone

Saturday June 3rd at 7:30 p.m.
Wasagaming Community Arts Centre

Carolyn Mount

Saturday, June 10th at 2:00 p.m
Clear Lake Bowling Greens.

Kristin Nelson

Thursday, June 29th at 7:30 p.m
Wasagaming Community Arts Centre

Kerri-Lynn Reeves

Members of the public are invited to join Kerri-Lynn and a park guide on a hike to Grey Owl’s cabin.
Saturday, July 15th from 9:00 am to 3:00 p.m. Read more.

Hannah Green

Thursday July 20th at 7:30 pm
Clear Lake Bowling Greens

Ufuk Gueray

Thursday, August 3rd at 7:30 p.m
Clear Lake Bowling Greens

Derek Dunlop

Thursday, August 17th at 7:30 p.m
Riding Mountain Visitor Centre

Curtis Wiebe

Thursday, August 31st at 7:30 p.m
Riding Mountain Visitor Centre

Diana Thorneycroft

Saturday, September 16th at 2:00 p.m
Deep Bay cabin

Michelle Wilson

Saturday, September 30th at 2:00 p.m
Riding Mountain Visitor Centre

Previous Riding Moutain Artists in Residence


Suzie Smith
Grant Guy
Di Brandt
Donna Besel
Charlene Van Buekenhout
Michelle Wilson
Angeline Schellenberg
Lindsey Bond
Jesse Krause
Jeanne Randolphe


Janelle Dawn Hacault
Kelsey Braun
Ariel Gordon
Alison Davis
Angeline Schellenberg
Patrick Dunford
Curtis Wiebe
Daniel Koulack
Diana Thornycroft
Maggie Ross
Tracy Peters


Evin Collis
Dominique Rey
Arlene Minkhorst and Johanne Gingras
Karen Cornelius
Natasha Torres-Garner
Mike Maryniuk
Melanie Rocan and Shaun Morin
Treasure Waddell
Megan D. Krause
Michael Boss
Alexandra Elliott


Kevin Nikkel
Michelle Elrick
Willow Rector
J.J. Kegan McFadden
Karel Funk
Diana Thorneycroft
Chantel Emond
Jennifer Still
Kenneth Nichols
Shannon Leitch


Natasha Torres-Garner
Sylvia Matas
Kerri-Lynn Reeves
Kevin Klassen
Chantal Dupas
Peter Graham
Lisa Wood
John Toone
Brenna George
Jennifer Still


Michael Benjamin Brown
Kevin Lee Burton

Jamie Wright
Heather Komus
Joshua Pearlman
Sarah Crawley
Carolyn Gray
Doug Melnyk


Danishka Esterhazy
Di Brandt
Sarah Crawley
Zaz Bajon
Elaine Stocki
Daria Salamon
J.J. Kegan McFadden
Grant Guy
Hannah Godfrey (hannah_g)
Naomi Guilbert
Hiroshi Koshiyama


Tricia Cooper
Joan Thomas
Sharon Alward
Gwen Armstrong
Sarah Klassen
James Durham
Diana Thorneycroft
Michael Dudeck
Bill Lobchuk


Di Brandt
James Durham
Victor Enns
Paul Butler
Reva Stone
Bryan Besant


Wanda Koop
Kevin deforest
Simon Hughes
Sarah Klassen
Edith Regier
Diana Thorneycroft
Laurie Block


Simon Hughes
Reva Stone
Bob Haverluck
Alla Turbanova
Sam Baardman