Méira Cook

Méira Cook – 2016 Major Arts Grant

Writer Méira Cook’s first novel, The House on Sugarbush Road (Enfield & Wizenty), won the McNally Robinson Book of the Year Award in 2013. Her latest novel, Nightwatching (HarperCollins), has recently been nominated for the Margaret Laurence Award for Fiction. She has published five poetry collections, most recently Monologue Dogs (Brick), which has been nominated for the Lansdowne PrizeRead More

Jennifer Still – 2013 Deep Bay Artists’ Residency

Jennifer Still is the winner of the 2012 Banff Centre Bliss Carman Poetry Award and the 2012 John Hirsch Award for Most Promising Manitoba Writer. Her second collection of poems, Girlwood (Brick Books, 2011), was nominated for the 2012 Aqua Books Lansdowne Prize for Poetry. Jennifer is a faculty member for the 2013 Banff Centre of theRead More

Michelle Elrick – 2013 Deep Bay Artists’ Residency

Michelle Elrick is the author of To Speak and the recipient of the 2011 John Hirsch Award for Most Promising Manitoba Writer. Her award-winning poetry and fiction have been published in journals across Canada and performed at festivals and events both here and abroad. Last summer, she created a series of performance installations called NotesRead More

Robert Kroetsch – 2003 Manitoba Arts Award of Distinction

Robert Kroetsch, writer, has been named the second recipient of the Manitoba Arts Council Arts Award of Distinction. This $30,000 award is presented annually to recognize the highest level of artistic excellence and distinguished career achievements by a professional artist. “Manitoba is tremendously rich in artistic talent,” says Dr. Judith Flynn, Chair of Council, “andRead More