Manitoba Arts Award of Distinction

The Manitoba Arts Award of Distinction recognizes the highest level of artistic excellence and distinguished career achievement by professional Manitoba artists in any art form. The $30,000 Award is presented biennially by the Manitoba Arts Council as part of its commitment to recognize and support professional artists in Manitoba.

The nominations for this award are made by the community and reviewed by a multidisciplinary panel of peers who make their decision based on the artistic excellence of the candidate’s work and their contribution to the development of the arts in Manitoba. Learn more about the Manitoba Arts Award of Distinction.

Diana Thorneycroft

2016 Manitoba Arts Award of Distinction

Diana Thorneycroft, Photo Diana Thorneycroft

Diana Thorneycroft is the 2016 Manitoba Arts Award of Distinction recipient. The recognition comes with $30,000 for the artist, and is the Manitoba Arts Council’s award for the highest level of excellence and long-term achievements of an artist in Manitoba. Read more

Previous Award of Distinction recipients include: Robert Archambeau (2014), J. Roger Léveillé (2012), William Eakin (2009), Roland Mahé (2008), Dr. Robert Turner (2007), Aganetha Dyck (2006), Guy Maddin (2005), Grant Guy (2004), Robert Kroetsch (2003), and Leslee Silverman (2002).

Past Recipient

Robert Archambeau

J. Roger Léveillé

William Eakin

Roland Mahé

Dr. Robert Turner

Aganetha Dyck

Guy Maddin

Grant Guy

Robert Kroetsch

Leslee Silverman